As of September 1st, 2017, texting and driving is illegal in Texas!
Texas is the 47th state to officially ban the dangerous practice of texting while driving.
Beginning on Friday September 1st, texting while driving within the state of Texas will be punishable by a fine of $25-99 for first-time offenders, and $100-200 for repeat offenders (though no points will be assigned). The new law also states that if an accident caused by texting and driving results in the death or serious bodily injury of another person, they can be charged with a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000 and confinement in jail for a term not to exceed one year (in addition to any other charges/punishments).
Here are some finer details to HB 62 you may not of heard of:
- this new law only addresses “reading, writing, or sending electronic messages” via a “wireless communication device.”
- it is still legal for motorists in most cities to use their phone for GPS navigation, music apps, dialing phone numbers, etc., but drivers may still get pulled over if an officer suspects them of texting.
- there are other/stricter cell phone bans in some cities in Texas and since no vote was cast before the special legislative session to roll back these stricter city ordinances, cities are still free to pass and enforce hands-free laws within their city limits. Visit for a full list of city ordinances.
Other Texas driving laws in effect:
- Texas forbids drivers from using hand-held communication devices (phones) in school zones,
- Texas law states that school bus drivers must refrain from texting or making telephone calls while driving—even with a hands-free device (see more).
- All novice drivers are banned from using their cell phone (or any wireless communication device) while driving for their first year behind the wheel.
Watch this helpful video from Keller, Texas, Police Department to get fully versed on the new law and how it effects you.
Leave a Reply